Feast of Fates by Christian A Brown

Feast of Fates by Christian A Brown

Synopsis

Morigan lives a quiet life as the handmaiden to a fatherly old sorcerer named Thackery. But when she crosses paths with Caenith, a not wholly mortal man, her world changes forever. Their meeting sparks long buried magical powers deep within Morigan. As she attempts to understand her newfound abilities, unbidden visions begin to plague her—visions that show a devastating madness descending on one of the Immortal Kings who rules the land.

With Morigan growing more powerful each day, the leaders of the realm soon realize that this young woman could hold the key to their destruction. Suddenly, Morigan finds herself beset by enemies, and she must master her mysterious gifts if she is to survive.

Feast of Fates (Four Feasts Till Darkness Vol1)
Christian A Brown
Publisher: CreateSpace 
Publication: July 2014
Genre: Epic Fantasy, Witchy, Shifters
I received this title for free in exchange for an honest review
Locate: amazon | b&n | book depository
Rated: ★★★★

Feast of Fates by Christian A Brown

This book BLEW ME AWAY! Once I really started getting into it, I could not put it down. Absolutely something that I needed to find in the Epic Fantasy genre that feels new and familiar at the same time. Feast of Fates by Christian A Brown is a book that is a must read for fans of Lord of the Rings and A Song of Ice and Fire.

I confess, I am a horrible person. When I first started this book, I had no idea what I was getting into. I picked it up in 2014 and read the first 10% and thought, this is not what I had in mind. At the start, you meet the three fates and I thought yes, this is good. I like this. But then, viewpoint switches over to handmaiden Morigan and a smith named Caenith. Things seemed to get hot and heavy and that was when I put the book away for a LONG time. I didn’t want to read another epic fantasy with gratuitous sex or romance.

Finally, earlier this month, I decided to finish reading all of the books I picked up but put away, and came back to Feast of Fates. I am a fool for putting it down when I did. Right as their romance is starting, viewpoint switches again and things GET GOOD. We meet the rest of the main players of Geadhain: a pair of immortal Kings born of the earth and time itself (so it seems), a pair of Queens fighting a war away from the Kings, a former pleasure slave turned spy messenger, a reanimated dead man, an elderly mage, a wolf in men’s clothing, a metal mouth sadist, a selkie, and a psychotic necromancer. All of these wildly different characters (and more I’ve not mentioned) connected. Where one moves, the others follow and react in an elegant dance of intrigue and warfare. And through it all remain Morigan, the handmaiden, finding the threads of each character attached to her.

The characters are amazingly fleshed out. I want to know about all of them, the Kings, the Fates, Sorren (who is a horror and a madman, yet one of my favourites?!). They each carry their own voice through the book and their motivations for their journey remain true. Morigan, the main heroine, rings likeable and believable, which is quite a feat considering her origin and powers. Mr. Brown tactfully was able to ground her, show that she is not invincible, that she is not a “Mary Sue” (a term I despise.)

As I mentioned earlier, the book reminded a bit of the A Song of Ice and Fire series. It has the intrigue and multiple converging storylines and characters, but not the gratuitousness for the sake of being gratuitous that ASOIAF has. It does amazingly well with world building, creating unique biomes with their own cultures, landscapes, and rules.

For me, however, where the story truly thrives, is in its writing. That is where I think of Lord of the Rings. It feels epic. It feels grand. The writing is descriptive, but purposeful. It does not over encumber the reader. Every word feels carefully chosen, every description and detail given means something and brings knowledge to the reader. There is also a big great doom as one (if not the) main enemy, but as Sauron was the enemy in LotR, and Melkor before him. There are bonds created through necessity, through kinship, through blood.

The second I finished Feast of Fates by Christian A Brown, I immediately told my fellow fantasy readers, go, buy this now, read it. I myself am buying a physical copy of this and of the next instalment in the series, Feast of Dreams, which I cannot wait to begin (but will have to for the time being).

Quotes & Excerpts

As he left the bed, kissing her upon the shoulder, she was so calm and sleepy that she didn’t reach out to him when she should have. For without any magik, but merely in her heart, she knew that this was the last she was to see of her bloodmate, her immortal and beautiful king, for a long, long time.
IV The Black Queen

Those not walking rode the streets in carriages, with metal-and-meat horses that carried the faint herb-and-formaldehyde waft of preserved flesh. Beasts animated and repurposed from dead parts were these; enhanced with plating, pistoned legs, and nictating eyes so they could navigate farther and faster than a natural of their species
V The Mouse : I

“When I saw you and Magnus together, your harmony reminded me of a love that had been ripped from my heart, and it brought me as much pain as it did joy.”
[…]
“Thackery, what are friends if not comforts to your sadness? Do not feed your darkness selfishly. We have seen what can become of a man once that path is taken.”
VIII The Heart of the King

“I cannot separate myself from the sins in my blood any more than you can separate yourself from your bloodthirstiness. Nor should I, nor should you, for it is these struggles that define us. We are what we are, Wolf, though we can always try to be something better. I now that you understand this.”
XVII The Long Nightmare : II

What Others Are Saying

*Roadside Reader is not affiliated with any of the websites listed above*

About Lulu

Thirty-something year old educator based in New York, Lulu loves books, blogging, gaming, and the three cats with whom she shares her life. Book reviews specialize in all kinds of fantasy, some YA, some romance, and some contemporary, especially in the gothic genre.