Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

Night Broken by Patricia Briggs


An unexpected phone call heralds a new challenge for Mercy. Her mate Adam’s ex-wife is in trouble, on the run from a stalker. Adam isn’t the kind of man to turn away a person in need—and Mercy knows it. But with Christy holed up in Adam’s house, Mercy can’t shake the feeling that something about the situation isn’t right.

Soon her suspicions are confirmed when she learns that Christy has the furthest thing from good intentions. She wants Adam back, and she’s willing to do whatever it takes to get him, including turning Adam’s pack against Mercy.

Mercy isn’t about to step down without a fight, but there’s a more dangerous threat circling. Christy’s stalker is more than a bad man—in fact, he may not be human at all. As the bodies start piling up, Mercy must put her personal troubles aside to face a creature with the power to tear her whole world apart.

Night Broken (Mercy Thompson #8)
Patricia Briggs
Publisher: Ace
Publication: March 2014
Genre: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Shifter
Personally purchased title
Locate: amazon | b&n | worldcat
Rated: ★★★★

Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

The latest Mercy Thompson book continues to expand the paranormal world around Tri-Cities by introducing new, foreign supernatural entities. We also see the relationship between Mercy and husband Adam tested when his ex-wife comes to town and the pack that dislikes Mercy for being a coyote interloper, swarms to support ex-wife, Christy. This series continues to please longtime readers, able to keep the focus between battling danger when confronted in balance with Mercy having to deal with personal issues while keeping true to herself. It’s this last part that makes the series so successful. A few other series begin to see their characters change into unrecognizable forms of themselves the further along we read (eg Anita Blake series), but Patricia Briggs has done a consistently great job at keeping Mercy true, but not stagnant. She changes a little here, a little there, but never (to date) compromises her core ideals.

“Night Broken” is a great example of Mercy staying true to herself, while also showing those slight changes that come with age and the experience gained through seven previous adventures. She is forced to share her house, her husband, and her pack with Christy, the shallow and superficial first wife, who returns after being viciously attacked by a now ex-boyfriend. Mercy could easily have gone out of character with her arrival and attacked her outright. Instead, she remains the same coyote mechanic we’ve always known, taking a subtler and more passive aggressive approach. She also recognizes that no one deserves to be attacked and tries to help capture the culprit. Adam continues trying to be the protective, chivalrous alpha, though he struggles to fulfill this role as his loyalties are halved between the two wives. While everyone knows his loyalties should be first and foremost to his current wife and mate, Adam likes to feel he is responsible for the entire world of people he’s ever met and contacted. This includes Christy, mother of his only child.

Of course, it wouldn’t be a Mercy book if there weren’t multiple issues going on simultaneously. This time, we deal with a Grey Lord wanting the walking stick back, as well as a coyote family reunion with a long lost and never known sibling. We also meet a new wolf that is joining the pack as Peter’s replacement. It’s going to be interesting to see where the new characters are going to place in the series and how strong a presence they will make in the next few books. I myself am just hoping that we’ll revisit the fae situation, which seems likely with Zee still squirreled away with the rest the fae.

About Lulu

Thirty-something year old educator based in New York, Lulu loves books, blogging, gaming, and her pom son Frodo Barkins with whom she shares her life. Book reviews specialize in all kinds of fantasy, some YA, some romance, and some contemporary, especially in the gothic genre.